Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: my first resume, please help me make it better?

Default my first resume, please help me make it better?

i know it isnt that great, but ive never written one before. i at least tried to be as formal as possible and i watched for spelling and grammar errors. what could i do to improve it? oh yeah, ive removed certain details for obvious reasons

To whom it may concern,
    My name is (blank), I am a 17 year old student at Blank Highschool, and I am interested in applying for your part time position a a photographer. While I have no formal work experience, I have taken an ROP class in photography during my junior year. I am very hands on, work very well with people, I have a willingness to learn, and I have no problems following instructions. If interested, my home number is (111)111-1111, and my email is spitfire_zzz2001@yahoo.ca
    Sincerely,
    (blank)

you put "a a" when I believe you meant "as a". I also think it'd sound better if you said

" I am very hands on, and I work well with people. (new sentence, instead of a continue from the last one) I'm willing and very eagar to learn, and I follow directions well. Thank you for your time, and consideration of my resume. I look forward to hearing from you soon.

Sincerely
    Your name printed here
    Your signature here

Also, instead of ending your resume with your phone number and email, put it at the top of the page as a header. It looks more professional that way.

example

John Doe
    (555) 123-4567
    123 Sesame St, State, 55432
    emailhere@yourdomain.com

Begin letter here.